Multiple DUI Life Happens. Let Us Help.

Colorado Springs Multiple DUI Attorney

Do You Have Multiple DUIs on Your Record? We Can Help.

Getting multiple DUI charges results in harsher penalties for each additional offense. One DUI charge carries serious consequences in itself, but the state of Colorado aims to discourage drivers from committing multiple DUIs by imposing tough punishments for every DUI following the first offense. You can look at these punishments as "incentives" to practice safe driving by refraining from driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs altogether.

With this in mind, it’s not surprising that multiple DUIs warrant unfavorable consequences. Not only could your driver’s license get suspended or revoked but you may also be required to complete a mandatory minimum jail sentence, pay hundreds to thousands of dollars in fines, and suffer a criminal record that cannot get sealed or expunged, as DUI is considered a lifetime offense in Colorado. To best guard yourself against a conviction, it is in your best interests to hire our experienced and dedicated multiple DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs.

We are available 24/7 to help you with your case. Schedule your free consultation at (719) 215-8049 to get started!

Second DUI or DWAI in Colorado

Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while ability impaired (DWAI) are both punishable offenses in Colorado. If you got a second DUI or DWAI charge, no matter how long ago your first offense was, you could get the following punishments:

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 8 points added to your driving record for DWAI
  • 12 points added to your driving record for DUI
  • 10 days to 1 year in jail
  • $600 to $1500 fine
  • 48 hours to 120 hours of public service

Not to mention, you may also be required to get an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, pay court costs, pay victim restitution, and complete other related fees and penalties if convicted of a second DWI or DWAI in Colorado.

What Happens If You Get a 3rd DUI in Colorado?

A second DUI offense is scary enough, but if you get charged for a third DUI, your penalties will skyrocket. That’s why you need to hire a powerhouse defense lawyer to fight against the following penalties:

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • 24-month license suspension
  • 8 points added to your driving record for DWAI
  • 12 points added to your driving record for DUI
  • 60 days to 1 year in jail
  • $600 to $1500 fine
  • 48 hours to 120 hours of public service

Remember, there’s no “lookback” period in Colorado, meaning you could suffer these penalties for a third DUI regardless of how long ago your second DUI or DWAI was. Keep in mind that you may be required to participate in a drug and alcohol evaluation and treatment program at your own expense.

4th DUI Offense in Colorado

A fourth DUI or DWAI charge carries felony charges. Having a felony conviction on your record could seriously damage your reputation and livelihood, which is why you must get a proven attorney to help you fight your charges and avoid a felony DUI conviction. If convicted of a 4th DUI offense in Colorado, you are looking at the following repercussions:

  • Class 4 felony charge
  • 24-month license suspension
  • 8 points added to your driving record for DWAI
  • 12 points added to your driving record for DUI
  • 2 to 6 years in prison
  • 3 years of parole
  • 48 hours to 120 hours of public service

Can You Get a DUI Under 21?

Although it is illegal to drink under the age of 21 in the US, many people under 21 get their hands on alcohol through friends and family. As such, they are just as likely to incur DUI or DWAI charges in Colorado as drivers who are 21 and over. With this in mind, let’s examine the penalties that drivers under 21 could face for multiple DUI charges. These punishments only apply if the BAC was between .02 and .05:

  • Class 2 traffic misdemeanor charge
  • 6-month license suspension
  • 4 points added to your driving record
  • 10 to 90 days in jail
  • $150 to $300 fines
  • Up to 24 hours of public service

One Conviction Is One Too Many

Our team at Patterson Weaver Law, LLC believes that you do not deserve to undergo the destructive consequences of a second, third, or fourth DUI conviction — and counting. We understand the gravity of your situation and how high the stakes are, which is why you can count on us to go the extra mile to minimize the impacts of your case while fighting to clear your name.

Ready to defend your case? Arrange a consultation with our Colorado Spring multiple DUI attorney at (719) 215-8049!